Mar. 17th, 2012

krickets: (Default)
Explain to me, oh ye goddesses of fandom!

Some of the dearest people to me use words that I just don't understand.

I feel like everyone's using the expression "whelmed" these days. But I just don't know how to take it. I mean, I am a complete nerd, and of course I looked it up in the thesaurus. It lists "overwhelm" as a synonym for "whelm." And it lists "underwhelm" as an antonym. This was my suspicion all along, based on my own personal knowledge of the English language, but I don't know how to tell when someone in fandom is using it for "overwhelm" or if they're using it ironically for "underwhelm." Sometimes by the context, I feel like it's one way. Sometimes I feel like it's the other way. And sometimes I just can't tell at all.

I mean maybe it always means "underwhelmed" in the same way that "the worst" seems to almost always mean "the best."

I am so confused! We live in a backward world, my friends. And we also clearly need to get a fandom-specific dictionary. Can someone do that for me? Thanks.

Profile

krickets: (Default)
krickets

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
202122232425 26
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 09:15 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios