it's hard out here for a vampire
Jul. 19th, 2011 10:14 pmReally minor (arbitrary!) spoilers for season 3 of The Vampire Diaries:
The three things I am terrified about season three of The Vampire Diaries are as follows:
1. Caroline is taken out of the action, stripped of all her badassery, and left to deal with love triangles. Look, I like to see people make out as much as the next girl. But this had better not be the core of Caroline's story in season three. I love watching the relationships blossom (friendly and romantic!) but not at the expense of Caroline's hard-won awesomeness. Just, no.
2. They make me hate Elena. Elena was just as badass as Caroline last season in her own human way. I want to keep loving her as fiercely as I have been and I don't want to see her turn into a pushover or to compromise the values that both she and Bonnie share. This is partially about Damon, yeah. I don't want her to give him a pass. I am all for him redeeming himself. But so far she hasn't even given him that opportunity. She forgives him without him even having to try. I want to see him try.
3. Stefan gets pushed to the side storyline-wise and some pretty extensive character assassination occurs. I am totally down with exploring dark!Stefan. But I'm afraid his whole dark!Stefan journey will take place off screen. This had absolutely better not be the case. I will have to write a very strongly worded letter!
The thing about it is... I can totally see all three of these things happening. Easily. For me season two was amazing. So I should have way more faith in these writers. But the more Julie Plec talks the more I want to blow my brains out. Yet still, I have faith!
Except for the fact that my #1 up there? Already halfway came true in the last 5 eps of season 2. All I can say is they had better cut that shit out and quickly.
SPOILER
Random spoiler for the season premiere: One of the major plot questions is what is Damon getting Elena for her birthday. (What is this, Degrassi?) My answer to this is: Stefan Salvatore. It's the only acceptable thing.
I'd probably be happier if the big question was something like: "Who is Stefan going to make out with? Could be Klaus, could be Katherine, could be Caroline. TUNE IN TO FIND OUT!"
Just me?
The three things I am terrified about season three of The Vampire Diaries are as follows:
1. Caroline is taken out of the action, stripped of all her badassery, and left to deal with love triangles. Look, I like to see people make out as much as the next girl. But this had better not be the core of Caroline's story in season three. I love watching the relationships blossom (friendly and romantic!) but not at the expense of Caroline's hard-won awesomeness. Just, no.
2. They make me hate Elena. Elena was just as badass as Caroline last season in her own human way. I want to keep loving her as fiercely as I have been and I don't want to see her turn into a pushover or to compromise the values that both she and Bonnie share. This is partially about Damon, yeah. I don't want her to give him a pass. I am all for him redeeming himself. But so far she hasn't even given him that opportunity. She forgives him without him even having to try. I want to see him try.
3. Stefan gets pushed to the side storyline-wise and some pretty extensive character assassination occurs. I am totally down with exploring dark!Stefan. But I'm afraid his whole dark!Stefan journey will take place off screen. This had absolutely better not be the case. I will have to write a very strongly worded letter!
The thing about it is... I can totally see all three of these things happening. Easily. For me season two was amazing. So I should have way more faith in these writers. But the more Julie Plec talks the more I want to blow my brains out. Yet still, I have faith!
Except for the fact that my #1 up there? Already halfway came true in the last 5 eps of season 2. All I can say is they had better cut that shit out and quickly.
SPOILER
Random spoiler for the season premiere: One of the major plot questions is what is Damon getting Elena for her birthday. (What is this, Degrassi?) My answer to this is: Stefan Salvatore. It's the only acceptable thing.
I'd probably be happier if the big question was something like: "Who is Stefan going to make out with? Could be Klaus, could be Katherine, could be Caroline. TUNE IN TO FIND OUT!"
Just me?
no subject
Date: 2011-07-20 02:57 am (UTC)S2 for me moved SO beyond CW highschool vampire teen drama lol into LEGIT awesome show! If any combination of those three things up there happen? It will not be that anymore. No way.
no subject
Date: 2011-07-20 03:58 am (UTC)I think that it actually pulled that off in season 1 but season 2 it managed to become even better. I am crossing my fingers for season three. REALLY.
no subject
Date: 2011-07-20 07:57 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-07-20 02:30 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-07-20 01:35 pm (UTC)*deep breaths*
no subject
Date: 2011-07-20 02:46 pm (UTC)Damon amuses me at times. And he has shown potential. But for the most part, I have been waiting for the writers to get off their asses and actually give him a redemption arc. So far, it's just been a whole lot of "poor me" pity party crap. And I don't know, the fact that Damon cares about himself enough to be sad about it, doesn't exactly redeem him for me.
I don't know if you ever watched Lost, and this is ironic considering that Ian played Boone, but when Locke gets Boone killed (even though he could have stopped it since he had a vision of it), instead of feeling sorry about for what he'd done - he stood over the hatch and cried, "Why me?" because he still couldn't get the stupid hatch open. And that's kind of what Damon does. Destroys people around him, acts recklessly, and at the end of the day, it's not them he feels sorry for, it's himself. It's one of the reasons I couldn't stand the Locke character and it's one of the reasons why I expect more from Damon. I feel like these writers have it in them to do good on Damon's story, and to make Damon/Elena (Damon/anyone really) something I could stomach without losing some of my respect for Elena - but so far they haven't gotten there yet! And they seriously need to step up to the plate.
The thing with Stefan being marked as the "hero" is that he's now been dethroned for all intents and purposes. His brother is going to sit at that table now and take his girl with him. Or at least that's how it seems to have been set up. Which, fine if they do it right. (Despite the gross, Elena-as-an-object-and-the-hero-gets-the-girl implications.) But I am hoping they don't ruin Stefan in the process. I am really afraid they're going to back-burner him and it will be the all-Damon show all the time.
I obviously have thought about this too much.
no subject
Date: 2011-07-20 09:17 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-07-21 02:26 am (UTC)Oh yeah, Klaus needs to pay, for sure. And hopefully its at the hands of Elijah. (And I'm pretty sure Stefan/Klaus is only happening in fic!land.)
no subject
Date: 2011-07-21 02:34 am (UTC)I'm sad. I like Matt....
I hope Elijah hangs for a long while.
no subject
Date: 2011-07-21 04:05 am (UTC)LOVE Elijah.