Shameless, What is Happening?
Jan. 23rd, 2012 07:46 amSo I am sitting in my car with 30 minutes left before I have to go into work, so I am using the iPhone LJ app to write this, which I've used sorta before, but nothing so complicated as an LJ cut. So I'm crossing my fingers that this works, and FYI there are spoilers for Shameless below.
What the ever loving fuck? This show is derailing. Can I just say that right now? We're three episodes into the season and I am pretty sure I don't EVER need to watch 2 out of three of these eps ever again. Whereas I've watched and loved each episode of season one 3 times each. (And could easily do with a fourth.)
There's something so disjointed about all of the storylines and I don't really feel like everybody's connecting in the same ways. I'm not sure I'm making sense, but it's early and I'm sitting in a parking lot on my phone, so go with it.
Can we talk about Frank a minute? This story the past two weeks has just sealed the fucking deal. We can now add murder to his list of sins. (Yeah, I quantify what he did with the pager as murder.) I just cannot even. Wow. And there's probably no way he will ever have to pay for that. And don't even get me started on the shit he said to Carl last week. All of his barely there redeemable qualities just went down the drain. But on top of that, I just need to see LESS of him.
In general, there's this weird imbalance going on. Don't like it.
And fucking show, way to make sex the most unappealing thing ever all through this episode. Just, no. And did I hear right? How would Lip not realize? Is he that incompetent in the sack? Just doesn't seem right to me that he wouldn't know, but then again I don't have a penis so it's not like I would know. Nobody was enjoying themselves. The working title for this episode could have been called "the one with all the bad sex."
I'm just sadly disappointed in everything.
Except Veronica. Thank fuck.
Posted via LiveJournal app for iPhone.
no subject
Date: 2012-01-23 08:38 pm (UTC)Don't even get me started on Steve. Jeez.
no subject
Date: 2012-01-24 12:56 am (UTC)I LOVE THEM ALL (except fucking Frank) it just feels so much less like a family this season for some reason. I need my Gallaghers to like, co-exist and not be in their own little bubbles. QUIT IT.
And Frank, well I was at the point where despite his constant thieving, I believed he really had started to care about Sheila. In his own way. But left to his own devices, we can easily see, that Frank is still Frank and he will never be anything else. It's disgusting. That woman had a chance to live and he took that from her. That's unforgivable. I hope she haunts him from the fucking grave.
ETA: I think the difference between this ep (and part of last ep too) is that before, despite how shameless things could get, you could still laugh at it in a small way, or at least care or feel something - relief, or sadness, or pain, or understanding. But this, all I felt was disgust. And hopelessness. (Except for V & Kev, of course.)
no subject
Date: 2012-01-24 01:39 am (UTC)Frank needs to go away again or at least not be so into the show. He is SUCH A HORRIBLE PERSON! Talk about bad influence he makes that statement true. His behavior is disgusting :x
I totally loved Season 1 to death... and I was the same with being able to watch the episodes over and over, but I can't do that with any of Season 2... yet. Let's hope it truly does get better - it has to!
no subject
Date: 2012-01-24 01:43 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-01-26 03:46 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-01-26 09:50 pm (UTC)I'm crossing my fingers that Steve coming back will bring some focus back to the show and edge Frank further out of the picture. (Could you please move over to the left? Little more? Litttttle more? Thanks, that's PERFECT.) Although I did have an issue with Steve's hair on his faux balcony. I won't lie, haha. Although it could have just been the green screening making it look super weird.(And for the record, he's not the only one who needs a haircut, Kev!)
Tone is off. FUN is off. EVERYTHING IS OFF.
I hope Frank ends up in jail with his mother, to be perfectly honest.
no subject
Date: 2012-02-02 04:25 am (UTC)