
"Go with him. I am serious. Sail away. Fall in love. Go make little volunteer babies." - Nolan
Translation: Nolan Ross, I love you.
Seriously? Just the way that he so dearly loves his only two friends in the entire world that he wanted to see them literally sail away and leave him behind because it would mean they'd both be safe and happy. My heart, it breaks. His hug with Jack was just... I can't even. He was clinging! You guys! It was perfection. Best character, by far. By far. Just the thought that he was such a good friend to David Clarke and stood by him through everything, when everyone else turned their backs on him, and that he's still standing by him today by helping Emily and protecting her. Just. I can't even explain how much all of this makes me love him. I love it when he calls her Ems. Just the way it sounds in his mouth, there's so much feeling behind it. It's like he's saying "Listen to me. I care about you. I know the person that you really are. I don't want to see you destroy yourself but I'm going to help you anyway because that's what friends do." Wow, I totally just went on a full-on fangirl rant. *blush* But no, seriously? I'm more convinced now than ever that Nolan Ross is the heart and soul of this show. F'reals.
Now that we got that out of the way. PLOT TWIST? CHECK! I can honestly say that I didn't see that coming. I was so convinced that they were going to put a huge damper on my crush on Josh Bowman and kill Daniel as "promised" in the pilot. But no! It was Tyler (who by the way, was looking weirdly attractive to me - for the first time ever - in this episode)! And Daniel. I just loved how Victoria instantly whispered to him, "Don't say a word." THAT IS A GOOD MOTHER, GUYS.
Brief moment to talk about Amanda: I like the girl. And I have for quite some time. In this episode when she tells Emily that she's destroyed the one thing that she ever really cared about, and that she meant their friendship. Just, yes. It kinda sealed the deal. Last week her scene with Jack was heartbreaking and brilliant, but this episode kind of cemented my love for her. I knew that she would come through for Emily and not let Tyler get away with it, and if we know nothing else in this episode, we know she at least tried.
I have a feeling that getting into that car might be one of the last things that Amanda ever does, and I'm pretty sure Jack thinks she did it. And perhaps she did. I mean, maybe she interrupted Tyler's attack on Daniel and turned the tables on him? I am dying to find out though.
♥ this show FOREVER.
no subject
Date: 2012-02-16 05:11 am (UTC)I love that Amanda came through in the end and I like that she understood that Emily did care for her in Emily's twisted way. I think Amanda's pretty scary herself, she's so hairtrigger and a bit mentally unstable, and I do think that she's probably the one who actually shot Tyler. Cause there were three shots fired, I expect that Tyler took a shot at Daniel, Daniel probably dove for cover or something and got knocked out, and Amanda shot Tyler in the back. That's my theory, anyway. Because it looks like Daniel doesn't really remember what happened and maybe thinks he did do it. I hope that getting into that car isn't the last thing she does, but since it seems like she got shot by Tyler when she escaped his hideout, I don't see anything good happening for her either way.
Anyway, I find the whole upcoming murder trial a bit, well, trying, because if they think Daniel did it, even if Tyler was shot while facing away from him, it's like...the dude already held them hostage at a dinner party in front of tons of witnesses, tied up and hurt Nolan, then was put away in a mental institution for the criminally insane, from which he escaped. I mean...self defense is so obvious I can't imagine any DA actually trying to put forth a decent case, much less thinking they could win.
no subject
Date: 2012-02-17 05:29 am (UTC)I do think it's pretty distinctly possible that Amanda is really the one who shot Tyler. But even so, it's still self defense if she was trying to stop him from murdering Daniel and there was a struggle and she shot him. Despite Tyler's history, if Daniel is arrested for Tyler's murder, there would still have to be a trial. The trouble is that it appears Tyler was shot in the back. Not sure how "self-defense-y" that's gonna come across, haha.
I recall reading that there would be a trial, but it won't dominate the storylines. Not sure how true that is, but who knows what's going to go down. Either way, I have a sneaking suspicion that Daniel is not going to get put away for any length of time. If she does make it out of that car, it may very well be Amanda who does the time. Especially if Daniel's memories come back and she did indeed pull the trigger.
no subject
Date: 2012-02-18 03:23 pm (UTC)I just loved how Victoria instantly whispered to him, "Don't say a word." THAT IS A GOOD MOTHER, GUYS.
ROTFLLLL, yes! Haha, I can't. Oh, Victoria.
I have such an insane fondness for Amanda, I think the actress has something really special and her character is tragic as hell to me. Maybe the most tragic in the series. I was so glad to see her this ep, I was afraid she was gone ... and I hope she's back soon. I really don't know what to think about what the hell happened at the end of the episode that ended with Tyler dead--and I found him weirdly attractive this episode as well! Maybe it was the casual clothes and unslicked hair?
no subject
Date: 2012-02-19 03:26 am (UTC)Right? I mean, she's not the most trustworthy crayon in the box, but that moment was perfection.
I agree about the actress playing Amanda. That scene with her and Jack in the hotel. Kinda shattered my heart a little bit. She was fantastic.
I feel like they tried to make Tyler look a little bit more like Daniel in this episode so that people thinking it was him laying on the beach would be more believable, hence the different look. They played it off as being "I'm on the lam and I don't have time to shave or do hair stuff, etc." Which definitely worked. Other than his good new look, I am not really sad to see him go, because he was just creepy to me. And the fact that his whole plan was to kill Daniel just kinda cemented the whole Tom/Dickie thing they had going on a la The Talented Mr. Ripley.
no subject
Date: 2012-02-19 12:38 pm (UTC)