krickets: (Default)
[personal profile] krickets
PSA: Forgot to use DW to crosspost, so I am doing that now. Sorry if you tried to comment on the first post.

I finished up season 2 of Orphan Black and have decided that despite my love of Felix and Allison (and beautiful Cal of course), I probably will only tune into season 3 if I don't have anything better to do.


The dance party at the end was sweet but is one of the only scenes where you can clearly see the "seams" in the illusion of Tatiana playing all these characters, so that kind of ruined it. And honestly it made me depressed thinking about Tatiana having to film each character's solo dance moves. ;)

(Except for Sarah and Felix bumping backs. That was cute.)

I loved the reveal of the male clone and who it was, not only because I have been dying for a new "model" since the end of season 1, but also because I feel like he's going to be kind of freaking awesome at it. But I don't know if that'll be enough to bring me back for season 3. I guess we'll see (if it's renewed?) when the promos come out.

I'm just kind of annoyed at the whole, boyfriend guy, no.. tail guy, no... this creepy professor guy, no... Siobhan, no... Rachel, no... Michelle Forbes, no... MAYBE the government is responsible for DYAD/LEDA etc. I'm just sick of it. MOVE ON. There is so much they could do here without making this into a maze of "who's the really REAL bad guy?" and "what's the really REAL conspiracy?" It's not the reason I tune into the show and it's overtaking it so I'm kind of annoyed.

Love the girl, but I kind of want MORE of the characters not played by Tatiana. Donnie got a lot of stuff to do this season which was lovely, and Vic (who I really like despite his idiocy), Felix, Art (ESPECIALLY ART!), Paul (kind of got lost in the fodder), Siobhan, and many others.

Overall, the show kind of ret-conned Helena this season. Which I can't say I'm unhappy about, because new-Helena is obviously better-Helena, but it does kind of negate a lot of what her character was in season 1 which from a narrative standpoint is not good. That aside, while the show is not perfect (one example: they utterly FAILED at hair and make-up with Tony), I still loved it anyway. Now I am not so sure. Maybe with time I'll feel differently.

Date: 2014-06-23 04:42 pm (UTC)
hypertwink: (cookhorns)
From: [personal profile] hypertwink
I think Dylan Bruce is filming stuff for Arrow so they really scaled Paul back. I think that the male clones will get me back for a while but I'm not as into it as I was before. At least, it's not like GoT where my faves get killed, right?

But Tatiana should really get an Emmy nom for this. At least.

Date: 2014-06-24 01:23 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiki-miserychic.livejournal.com
Basically, they dealt with Helena as a "bad guy" by keeping her fed.

Date: 2014-06-24 01:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] crickets.livejournal.com
Hahaha, true enough. ;)

I feel like I am very lonely in my being underwhelmed by season 2. That's ok. I'm used to it.

Date: 2014-06-24 05:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiki-miserychic.livejournal.com
Awww, *pets you and gives you raw ramen noodles and a hard boiled egg to eat*

Date: 2014-06-24 07:43 pm (UTC)

Date: 2014-06-25 07:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] catteo.livejournal.com
To be honest I felt as though there was quite a lot of retconning this season. With Helena I sort of felt as though she had always been looking for a place to belong and she was so happy to have found sisters that I didn't find her behaviour to be totally unexpected. I chose to view it as character growth rather than anything else. Paul's character was totally retconned IMO though. Nothing about his S1 character makes any sense in light of the fact that they've chosen to say that he was acting as a double agent all along. I sort of feel as though they started off with a one season show that got so popular that they realised that they'd written themselves into a bit of a corner and didn't have anywhere else to go. A feeling that did not improve once I read a post finale interview where they said that they only decided on Mark as the boy!clone in episode 6 or something. Which, when you're only writing 10 episodes, seems pretty late in the day.

I still enjoyed it overall though. And I'll be back next season!

Profile

krickets: (Default)
krickets

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
202122232425 26
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 12:13 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios