Did anyone else watch Amanda Knox on Netflix. I knew very little about the case, so for me it was an eye opener. A little unsettling. Really well done. Has anyone else gotten a chance to check it out?
I got a chance to. I was immensely surprised by it and how little evidence there was against her. They found a kitchen knife that belonged to her boyfriend that had Amanda's DNA on it (I cook with my boyfriend--my DNA would be on kitchen knives too) and a speck of DNA from the murder victim. And that was enough evidence to conclude she was a crazy, deviant, sex fiend who manipulated two guys to kill her roommate for her. THAT'S CRAZY.
Yeah it's pretty wild. I loved the reporter. He was so completely shameless in his utter lack of remorse/responsibility. I mean he's not the only one and he didn't create the whole "print it, truth be damned" industry. But the way he reveled in it all? Gross!
I only had passive knowledge of this case beforehand, and I find it completely crazy that I legitimately had no idea that two other people were prosecuted for the murder. I think I had a vague memory that someone else was involved. But the way the media highlighted Amanda, you could easily (and I did) miss that "small insignificant" detail!
The idea that they kept going after Amanda even after Rudy was captured just because Amanda was more interesting. WHAT??? God.
I watched it yesterday actually. :) It was really well done. I remember following the case closely cause it was on tv all the time. When the headlines were going crazy that's how I knew something was up. They would become wilder by the day and it was being dragged out for years.
...
Date: 2016-10-07 02:25 am (UTC)Prosecution through sexism.
Re: ...
Date: 2016-10-07 12:40 pm (UTC)I only had passive knowledge of this case beforehand, and I find it completely crazy that I legitimately had no idea that two other people were prosecuted for the murder. I think I had a vague memory that someone else was involved. But the way the media highlighted Amanda, you could easily (and I did) miss that "small insignificant" detail!
The idea that they kept going after Amanda even after Rudy was captured just because Amanda was more interesting. WHAT??? God.
no subject
Date: 2016-10-07 02:37 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2016-10-07 12:57 pm (UTC)I don't watch the news for many of these reasons. ANY excuse to sensationalize! But it turns out print news is almost just as bad!