Callum, stop being so pretty!
Jun. 1st, 2008 06:54 pm001. I watched The Invisible yesterday with my dad and I swear I'd forgotten how pretty Callum was in that movie. Just... yeah. Is it wrong that I want to read or write Larson/Annie fic now?
002. I have so much SGA to catch up on but for some reason I have been avoiding watching it. I think it may be because the hugest chunks of it I've watched have been when I've been feeling really crappy. So... it's psychological? I think I'm allergic to Sheppard or something.
003. I made this crazy-ass deal with
mistojen, all her idea by the way, that I'd agree to watch one season of Who and two seasons of T'wood if she watched the first three seasons of BSG. So I'm about four eps into Who. (Which, dude, cliffhanger, so episode five is going to be watched tonight.) Admittedly, it's a little too cheesy and campy sci fi for me, but I enjoy the dynamics between the Doc and Rose so I'm willing to look past the silly stuff for the good of... keeping up my end of the bargain. Hehe.
Watch, by the end of this she'll have me hooked or something. Have I been duped? Though I feel a bit badly because I've got a leg up on her, I already know a lot about the Who-verse and T'wood. (Yes that's what I'm calling it.) Because of my oh-so-knowledgeable flist, of course. *glomps*
004. Been putting this last part off. Supernatural and me? I think... we're divorced? As much as I wish I could say it's not true, the reality is that I am just too disappointed in season three to justify investing in season four.
I feel that all of the changes they made only worsened the show, and on top of that they were made for all the wrong reasons. (They got Ruby right, I really liked her.) But everything else it just... a thousand kinds of wrong - the new look, bright bubble-gum colors instead of dark, foggy, and serious; replacing creepy and scary with gore and shock; the changes they've made in the characters, turning Sam and Dean into these slapstick jokesters who are a far far cry from the heroes we met in seasons one and two; etc. etc.
I feel like they took away all of the things I liked about the show and replaced it with some alternate version of the show I'd been watching for two seasons. The things I loved about the show made it easier to ignore the things I didn't love about the show.
It used to be that I would be engaged and excited about each episode, disappointed when it was over, always too soon. But this season I've found myself looking at the clock and waiting for it to be over. I even turned an episode off in the middle at least once, and almost on several occasions.
This has nothing to do with the misogyny debate that was going on a couple of weeks ago, and everything to do with the fact that I feel Kripke and co. are so afraid of cancellation that they are forsaking past audience in favor of bringing in a younger, less female demographic. That's why all the gore, that's why all the slapstick, that's why they brought in two arbitrary hot chicks to stir the pot.
Granted, I loved Ruby, but I would have been perfectly happy if they had reached into their nearly endless supply of former guest stars and brought back a female or two (even as love interests!) that would have been recognized by the audience. In fact, the fact that the boys never seem to run into any of the people they've helped along the way is one of those little things that sorta bugged me, but I used to be able to easily overlook.
Watching the finale, I didn't even care about Dean's death. I just didn't. It was all gore and no emotion. I've seen someone else mention, and I felt this too while watching, that the episode itself was shot in a very unemotional way. For me, thinking back on John's death and the way that was done? This is just a completely different show. It's strayed so far from what it used to be.
And so maybe in the fall, I'll decide to give it another go. But for now? I'm just... sad. Sad because I went from loving a show to very nearly literally hating it in one season. So... I honestly doubt I will be watching.
It's so stupid, but lately sometimes just thinking about the show frustrates me. It's definitely why I've yet to finish those two drabble requests from over a month ago. Crazy!
002. I have so much SGA to catch up on but for some reason I have been avoiding watching it. I think it may be because the hugest chunks of it I've watched have been when I've been feeling really crappy. So... it's psychological? I think I'm allergic to Sheppard or something.
003. I made this crazy-ass deal with
Watch, by the end of this she'll have me hooked or something. Have I been duped? Though I feel a bit badly because I've got a leg up on her, I already know a lot about the Who-verse and T'wood. (Yes that's what I'm calling it.) Because of my oh-so-knowledgeable flist, of course. *glomps*
004. Been putting this last part off. Supernatural and me? I think... we're divorced? As much as I wish I could say it's not true, the reality is that I am just too disappointed in season three to justify investing in season four.
I feel that all of the changes they made only worsened the show, and on top of that they were made for all the wrong reasons. (They got Ruby right, I really liked her.) But everything else it just... a thousand kinds of wrong - the new look, bright bubble-gum colors instead of dark, foggy, and serious; replacing creepy and scary with gore and shock; the changes they've made in the characters, turning Sam and Dean into these slapstick jokesters who are a far far cry from the heroes we met in seasons one and two; etc. etc.
I feel like they took away all of the things I liked about the show and replaced it with some alternate version of the show I'd been watching for two seasons. The things I loved about the show made it easier to ignore the things I didn't love about the show.
It used to be that I would be engaged and excited about each episode, disappointed when it was over, always too soon. But this season I've found myself looking at the clock and waiting for it to be over. I even turned an episode off in the middle at least once, and almost on several occasions.
This has nothing to do with the misogyny debate that was going on a couple of weeks ago, and everything to do with the fact that I feel Kripke and co. are so afraid of cancellation that they are forsaking past audience in favor of bringing in a younger, less female demographic. That's why all the gore, that's why all the slapstick, that's why they brought in two arbitrary hot chicks to stir the pot.
Granted, I loved Ruby, but I would have been perfectly happy if they had reached into their nearly endless supply of former guest stars and brought back a female or two (even as love interests!) that would have been recognized by the audience. In fact, the fact that the boys never seem to run into any of the people they've helped along the way is one of those little things that sorta bugged me, but I used to be able to easily overlook.
Watching the finale, I didn't even care about Dean's death. I just didn't. It was all gore and no emotion. I've seen someone else mention, and I felt this too while watching, that the episode itself was shot in a very unemotional way. For me, thinking back on John's death and the way that was done? This is just a completely different show. It's strayed so far from what it used to be.
And so maybe in the fall, I'll decide to give it another go. But for now? I'm just... sad. Sad because I went from loving a show to very nearly literally hating it in one season. So... I honestly doubt I will be watching.
It's so stupid, but lately sometimes just thinking about the show frustrates me. It's definitely why I've yet to finish those two drabble requests from over a month ago. Crazy!
no subject
Date: 2008-06-01 11:57 pm (UTC)Is it wrong that I want to read or write Larson/Annie fic now?
Yes.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:03 am (UTC)Yes.
Awwwww why? I meant like.. AU future!fic of course...
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:09 am (UTC)It's wrong because it is! Annie's a little freakball, despite the fact that she had good taste as a kid, and Brian's better than that. Probably has, oh, a Mountie he drives over the border to see every few weeks.
(Brian Larson == older, jaded Ray Kowalski y or y?)
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:13 am (UTC)I could see that for sure!
It's wrong because it is!
*pouts*
Fine... (you might be encouraging me by saying that... lol. I have a history of being contrary! Though, the likelihood of me writing movie fic is pretty non-existent.)
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:24 am (UTC)YES! There were parts of the finale that were semi-emotional (they can't be TOO emotional; after all, they are the Win-NoChickFlickMoments-chesters) like Dean's "keep fighting" speech to Sam, but Dean's death was ultimately done a bit poorly. And the shot into Hell killed any empathy I had for weeping!Sam (who did a really nice job, I think).
I'm still going to watch the show (after all, you never know what a new season will bring).
And I liked Ruby (and Bela) too, but I didn't LOVE her. I could've honestly done without and preferred if they brought in someone from their past as well.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:55 am (UTC)and preferred if they brought in someone from their past as well. → I still hope in vein that they will do this! The few opportunities times it's looked like they might go that route with some of the guest stars, they've killed them off. Like the guy in The Croatoan for example. But there are several other guest stars that really did a bang-up-job and it would make total sense for them to in some way work in the same field as Sam and Dean (if not hunting, something else). Like the sister and two brothers from Wendigo for example. I bet you they are hunters now! Hahaha.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:28 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 01:00 am (UTC)Just... I wish I could say I even had a vein hope that it will get better in season four. But I have been holding onto that all throughout season three. I don't know how much more I have in me!
And I agree, season 1 and season 2 were great! I own them both on DVD! But I will not be purchasing season three on DVD. No way.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:33 am (UTC)In other news *evil laughter* You're gonna totally be hooked on Who-verse. It's so corny, it's awesome. Plus Rose is the shit. And Mickey. Mickey is the love of my life. ;) But just wait til you get to TW. Guhhhh I love TW so much more.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 01:02 am (UTC)On some level I still care about the characters, even though the season three manifestation of them makes me absolutely cringe. So if anything, that might be the draw. But if watching Dean die an wanting to laugh out of spite instead of cry is any indication...
We'll see! ;)
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 01:13 am (UTC)...yeah, I'm not gonna lie; I did too.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:39 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 01:03 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 12:40 am (UTC)And as for Doctor Who...I don't know if you'll like David Tennant, but he made the show a million times better for me.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 01:05 am (UTC)Oh! And I have some icons! *points* Hehehe.
Yeah I think I might end up watching season 2 as well as season one. See that? Four eps in and snared already!
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 01:25 am (UTC)But seriously, S1 of DW and S1+2 of TW are the perfect combonation. Because S1 kicks soooo much ass, S2 was the low point then S3 and now 4 are better than 2 but S1 is untouchable.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 02:26 pm (UTC)I have heard both, I have heard some like 1 better and some like 2 better. Hmm... We'll see. I am about 8 eps in so I haven't got far to go with season one. I'm kind of annoyed that rose keeps getting stuck in rooms filled with Danger and has to be saved. Nearly every ep! I think the last two she hasn't though.. lol.
no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 02:41 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 02:26 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 06:57 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-02 02:28 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-05 07:49 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-06-05 07:50 pm (UTC)