an actual post!
Apr. 10th, 2011 02:16 pm→ Just saw this -- Robert Sheehan is apparently not returning for S3. For a long time I just found Nathan irritating, but at the same time he was always funny (if vulgar) and he was a major part of the show, and I grew to love him, albeit grudgingly, and to look forward to his antics. I would go on to say how he was the "heart" of the show, but Nathan and hearts aren't two things that easily mix. But he was certainly the lead, and to lose him is a huge blow to this show, not only because of his "star power" or whatever you want to call it, but just the dynamic of the show itself. It will be so completely different. Nathan made the show what it was. Love him or hate him or both, that's just a fact. And it's hard to imagine how they will continue on without him in the same spirit as they had before. I am not ruling it out, but I am extremely skeptical and just generally disappointed by this news.
Obviously this is Robert's choice because of his rising movie career. And part of me wants to wish him luck and be proud of him for his accomplishments. But at the same time TV stars who abruptly leave their shows in the dust in order to pursue their movie careers have always left a bad taste in my mouth. So it's hard not to feel a little mad at him too. I guess I'll have to find a balance. Especially with that adorable turtle movie coming out. (Damn you, Robert.)
→ I signed up for a new prompt table at
fc_smorgasbord here. Little known fact about me. Out of all of the prompt tables I've ever signed up for, I've never finished a single one. Not one! That's awful. I feel like such a failure, haha. I may try to add more fandoms to the table later, but for now I've just signed up for lost and the vampire diaries. We'll see how it goes.
→ I have to start my club vivid vid soon. If not yesterday. I haven't been able to work on it because I got the new computer and instead of taking two days to get it all set up like it should have taken me, it's taken me over a week. I think I've finally got it set up, but I am not holding my breath. I have never had so much trouble. And it's not the computer itself, I've just had a bunch of hang-ups, some my own fault and some just totally random things. Today is literally the first time I've woken up and had nothing to install or double-check or fix or augh. (And even saying that, I can think of a couple of things I could install!) Yeah, so today feels like the first day with this computer period. The first day I can just relax and do whatever it is I normally do. Sadly, it's a Sunday and I don't have much faith that I will get much done in a creative sense today. Too many chores and a messy room to boot. Ah, such is life.
→ The Vampire Diaries was back this week! I loved it but at the same time I felt kind of underwhelmed by it, haha. I won't spoil anybody but it's hard to live up to a six week hiatus. I mean, for real? It's April now, the last episode was in February. That's a long damn time to wait for something.
I feel like the last four or five eps of the season are going to be non-stop craziness though. especially with that ending and Alaric being possessed by Klaus. (!!!)
I am finding myself a little bored by the Caroline story. Not by Matt and Liz, because that part is awesome. (Poor Caroline.) But her just sort of, I don't know, chasing after Matt and constantly confessing her love to him and? I don't know it's just... categorically not as bad-ass as we all know Caroline can be. I almost found myself embarrassed for her.
And the fact that nobody seemed too interested in helping her track down the guy that now knows she's a vampire and could be shouting it through the streets of Mystic Falls? I just felt like they should have been a little more concerned and yet they weren't, at all. I was a little disappointed in that. *shrug*
I also wanted more Jenna fallout. This is what we have been waiting for peeps! Get with the program!
For a show that is amazing 9 times out of 10, this was one episode where I felt like it wasn't as amazing as it usually is, which isn't terribly bad, but it's not good either.
→ I saw Hanna on Friday! I was super impressed. I won't get into any lengthy reviews but I will say I recommend it to everybody. When I first saw the trailer for this movie I really hoped that it was a book adaptation, but sadly that's not the case. It's a shame cause I think I'd really enjoy reading more about this story, more details and backstory, etc. I wasn't all that impressed with The Chemical Brothers score though, at times it worked and at times it didn't. But it didn't prevent me from enjoying it, which I did, immensely!
Obviously this is Robert's choice because of his rising movie career. And part of me wants to wish him luck and be proud of him for his accomplishments. But at the same time TV stars who abruptly leave their shows in the dust in order to pursue their movie careers have always left a bad taste in my mouth. So it's hard not to feel a little mad at him too. I guess I'll have to find a balance. Especially with that adorable turtle movie coming out. (Damn you, Robert.)
→ I signed up for a new prompt table at
→ I have to start my club vivid vid soon. If not yesterday. I haven't been able to work on it because I got the new computer and instead of taking two days to get it all set up like it should have taken me, it's taken me over a week. I think I've finally got it set up, but I am not holding my breath. I have never had so much trouble. And it's not the computer itself, I've just had a bunch of hang-ups, some my own fault and some just totally random things. Today is literally the first time I've woken up and had nothing to install or double-check or fix or augh. (And even saying that, I can think of a couple of things I could install!) Yeah, so today feels like the first day with this computer period. The first day I can just relax and do whatever it is I normally do. Sadly, it's a Sunday and I don't have much faith that I will get much done in a creative sense today. Too many chores and a messy room to boot. Ah, such is life.
→ The Vampire Diaries was back this week! I loved it but at the same time I felt kind of underwhelmed by it, haha. I won't spoil anybody but it's hard to live up to a six week hiatus. I mean, for real? It's April now, the last episode was in February. That's a long damn time to wait for something.
I feel like the last four or five eps of the season are going to be non-stop craziness though. especially with that ending and Alaric being possessed by Klaus. (!!!)
I am finding myself a little bored by the Caroline story. Not by Matt and Liz, because that part is awesome. (Poor Caroline.) But her just sort of, I don't know, chasing after Matt and constantly confessing her love to him and? I don't know it's just... categorically not as bad-ass as we all know Caroline can be. I almost found myself embarrassed for her.
And the fact that nobody seemed too interested in helping her track down the guy that now knows she's a vampire and could be shouting it through the streets of Mystic Falls? I just felt like they should have been a little more concerned and yet they weren't, at all. I was a little disappointed in that. *shrug*
I also wanted more Jenna fallout. This is what we have been waiting for peeps! Get with the program!
For a show that is amazing 9 times out of 10, this was one episode where I felt like it wasn't as amazing as it usually is, which isn't terribly bad, but it's not good either.
→ I saw Hanna on Friday! I was super impressed. I won't get into any lengthy reviews but I will say I recommend it to everybody. When I first saw the trailer for this movie I really hoped that it was a book adaptation, but sadly that's not the case. It's a shame cause I think I'd really enjoy reading more about this story, more details and backstory, etc. I wasn't all that impressed with The Chemical Brothers score though, at times it worked and at times it didn't. But it didn't prevent me from enjoying it, which I did, immensely!
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 06:59 pm (UTC)And don't worry, who ever finishes their fic tables? LOL! I know I haven't.
I was a bit underwhelmed by the new VD, I guess mostly because everything has become so plot-based and Caroline's just making me sad ... and dinging my embarrassment meter.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 07:31 pm (UTC)Haha, some people do! I'm sure of it!
Yeah I think for coming back after a hiatus it was not the most exciting episode. Part of that may be because I never found Isobel that interesting, but I guess she at least redeemed and removed herself in this one episode. So that's a plus.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 07:15 pm (UTC)And there is this:
I'm interested in how they handle his leaving the show, actually really looking forward to it. I think they'll do a good job with it.
I'm hearing lots of good stuff about Hanna. I might scrap together some cash and friends and go see it.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 07:32 pm (UTC)Definitely see it. :)
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 07:28 pm (UTC)I thought the ending with Ric was great. I love Ric so I want him to be OK.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 07:46 pm (UTC)I like Caroline/Matt. I multi-ship Caroline. But it just came across as sort of silly and unimportant in the context of what was going on.
I am neutral on Alaric, but I am really excited to see what happens with his possession.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 09:02 pm (UTC)I looked at Caroline chasing Matt not so much as an ILY. Let's be b/f and g/f forever and ever, but her just wanting him to be OK with vampires and being concerned about the danger his knowledge would bring to everyone.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 07:33 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 08:09 pm (UTC)And how lucky for you, getting to see them at Wondercon! That's cool!
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 07:53 pm (UTC)That said, Doctor Who fans get used to a new Doctor every so often but that's sooooo different. I'm simply reminded of Paul Campbell even though I know that Robert's movie career will probably be very successful. Still show, what will happen with you now??!!!!!!
New computers are supposed to be easy and they are eventually. It's amazing how many little things you are used to on a computer you have had for years. Just downloading new codecs and stuff. But you have a newer, swifter computer! For a newer vidding you!
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 08:12 pm (UTC)I'd completely forgotten about Paul in BSG. I knew it was his choice but I didn't realize it was for movie gigs. I don't think I've ever even seen him in a movie, haha.
Yes, eventually. While writing this post and after I thought of quite a few things I can still install, haha. Woe.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 08:41 pm (UTC)I think Paul was going to be in a TV series? I don't even remember anymore. Sherry Stringfield left ER for bigger things and years later came back. A bird in the hand, folks. A bird in the hand.
Can't wait for new Crickets!vids!
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 08:30 pm (UTC)Stefan and co. really did take the Matt thing in stride, didn't they? I have a feeling that's going to end badly for everyone. To be honest, I'd be happy to see Matt ushered out by the end of the season. He's the only character on the show that I'm consistently uninterested in. And there has to be a bigger Jenna fallout coming. She's still in the dark about the whole vampires are real thing and it's driving me nuts.
The Alaric bit gutted me, but I can't wait to see Matt Davis get to let loose as Klaus.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 09:17 pm (UTC)as i posted before - i'm giving a second chance to VD. i'll keep you posted ;)
no subject
Date: 2011-04-10 09:30 pm (UTC)One of the great things about TVD is that even if I find it awesome most times, I have basically no expectations when watching it. it's very freeing.
and lol! never finished a prompt table/bingo card either, oops. ;)
no subject
Date: 2011-04-11 03:57 am (UTC)TVD was just AMAZING!!! And... it's looks like it's just going to get EPIC as things go on - I can't wait!!! :D
I definitely wanna see Hanna - I think I'm gonna go this week. I also wanna see Soul Surfer.
no subject
Date: 2011-04-11 05:17 am (UTC)I need to see Hanna soon.