krickets: (GREYS. arizona. can't save 'em all.)
→ So my friend Abby and I are going to try to rewatch Buffy and Angel using this watching order list. She is already in mid-season two and so in order to catch up with her I did the "short version" of season one. (Welcome to the Hellmouth, The Harvest, Angel, and Prophecy Girl.) Gosh, the sfx are so hard to watch, going back. I forgot how bad they were! But it's crazy how so many of the lines are familiar to me to this day. How many times did I watch Prophecy Girl? It must have been a bunch.

I got through When She Was Bad (2x01) last night, so if I keep up the pace I can catch up to her soon. Since I'm trying to get back into working out, I think what I'll do is bring my phone with me to the gym and watch it with headphones when I do the elliptical/bike. Good motivation! When She Was Bad was just a great lead-in to season two. I do think that the show matured ten-fold between season one and season two. It took what was great about the show in general in season one, the darkness in Buffy and the sacrifices she has to make, the strong ensemble and bond between the characters, the witty banter, Cordelia and Giles in general, and it just made it that much better. Season two is definitely when this show came into its own. Watching it now (almost 20 years later, fuck I'm old) it really still shows.

→ I have been quietly watching Girls since it came out and sadly I had completely missed the most recent season. But I recently caught up, thank goodness. I have to say the current season is pretty darn great. The writing in the first episode back was so on point that it's not even funny. I especially enjoyed the most recent Marnie-centric episode.

The only thing I am not thrilled with is the Jessa/Adam thing and how it's developing. It's especially hard to get behind them as a couple after Adam's attempt to reconcile with Hannah last season and how that scene just completely broke my heart. I think Jessa and Adam are great to watch together, but the revelation that they've both wanted each other for a long time didn't ring true to me. Plus they're both just too pretty together. Ick. Gross. I do love Fran, though. I am just not sure what I want for Hannah. When she and Adam were great together, they were phenomenal. So it's hard not to want that for her. But then maybe their time has passed? I don't know. And I am not sure how things are going to happen as far as her finding out about Adam and Jessa. I mean, he's meeting Jessa's family and agreeing to pay for her degree? And they still haven't told Hannah. I don't know how she will react when she finds out. I do know that I am still holding out for Ray and Marnie though. Also, Elijah is literally the best.

→ Unpopular opinion time? I am so annoyed by The 100 fandom. I was behind on the show when the thing happened. And I guess I'll spoiler cut this for anyone who is living under a rock.

I'm going to preface this by saying that I was a fan of Lexa and of the Clarke/Lexa relationship. I am such a non-traditional shipper that I actually ship Bellamy and Raven (which the show clearly doesn't) so I don't even GAF about Bellamy/Clarke. I am not ANTI-Bell/Clarke but I am more invested in Bell/Raven because I am clearly a crazy person. I'm telling you this because I want it to be clear that I'm not saying this as a Bellamy/Clarke shipper. (And I never liked Finn/Clarke.) Now that that's out of the way, I can say that I'm so disgusted with the fandom reaction to Lexa's death. I get that killing of lesbian characters is a thing. But it's not like the show could have sent Lexa off to college in another state. That's not the kind of show this is. If the actress had to leave the show (I was actually surprised she was even in this season because of Fear the Walking Dead) it just made logical sense to me that she would probably perish in some way. It could have been done another way, but it would have been abnormal for this show.

It just seems like it's incredibly selfish of the fans to campaign against a show in an effort to kill it. This is a show I fucking like that has low-ish ratings and that is kind of an underdog to begin with. And I would just really fucking appreciate it if fans (ex-fans?) weren't trying to actively sabotage it. And the worst part about it is that the fans aren't even upset at the text alone, they're mad about the social media accounts of the show runner (and apparently others?) -- which is just stupid, I'm sorry -- and they're mad that the character and relationship they were invested in was actually promoted by the network prior to the character's death? If they hadn't promoted the character or the relationship, they'd have been pissed at that too. (Also, that would have been really bizarre.) So I just don't see how any of this could have resulted in anything other than an angry mob.

There is something sacred about lesbian characters and lesbian couples on television and people get very passionate about it, especially in the LGBTQA community. Their feelings are still valid, but I don't have to like their actions. It's one thing to be upset and it's another thing to start an all-out campaign. I happen to be glad that The 100 was renewed. But I have to wonder that if the show doesn't survive another season. Who is to blame? And there's still Clarke. She's a bisexual character who is the lead in a show and she's still there. This is not me saying be grateful for what you get, this is me saying that if the show dies, so does Clarke.


God, I miss the fourth wall. So fucking much.
krickets: (Default)

This is like what I imagine twitter to be, in virtual internet reality.


Also? Has anybody watched Shiri Appleby's web series? Dating Rules from My Future Self? It's actually super adorable. (And well, she's super adorable.) And Fran Kranz is in a couple of episodes, which is - not going to lie - half of the reason I watched it. (Oh, Topher.) It's pretty short and I'm kind of wondering if they're trying for a pilot or something? I don't know, but it was worth the watch. Here's a promo:
krickets: (BUFFY. but you're just a girl;)
Quick vid rec:
[livejournal.com profile] turquoisetumult recommended this awesome Buffy vid posted at YouTube by user MytubePr0ductions. Don't forget to go over there and leave them some feedback for their amazing work.

It's a good old fashioned kick in the head reminder of how much I love that show. Definitely watch it whether you're a Buffy fan or not.
krickets: (BUFFY. but you're just a girl;)
Quick vid rec:
[livejournal.com profile] turquoisetumult recommended this awesome Buffy vid posted at YouTube by user MytubePr0ductions. Don't forget to go over there and leave them some feedback for their amazing work.

It's a good old fashioned kick in the head reminder of how much I love that show. Definitely watch it whether you're a Buffy fan or not.
krickets: (BUFFY. but you're just a girl;)
So according to the Hollywood Reporter there's a Buffy film re-boot in the works which does not in any capacity involve Whedon or any connection to to show at all. I'm sort of intrigued, given the fact that a lot of reboots have been fairly successful and well-done, and yet I'm viciously skeptical and maybe a little bit protective.
krickets: (BUFFY. but you're just a girl;)
So according to the Hollywood Reporter there's a Buffy film re-boot in the works which does not in any capacity involve Whedon or any connection to to show at all. I'm sort of intrigued, given the fact that a lot of reboots have been fairly successful and well-done, and yet I'm viciously skeptical and maybe a little bit protective.
krickets: (ATLANTIS. ronon is beautiful.)
Buffy Box Set on sale today at amazon for $69.99. And I thought I got a good deal getting it at $99 bucks back when I bought it. I think amazon usually sells it for $149 or there-about.

→ Jason Momoa, of SGA, -see icon- was apparently attacked last week and had to get 140 stitches in his face, and re-constructive surgery. Holy crap! I am beyond stunned at this news. Poor guy. I don't even know how to imagine anyone's face with 140 stitches in it. Jesus.

→ Loved Grey's Anatomy last night. my c&p'ed reaction ) This show is really just getting better and better. I don't care if people are hating on it right now. In so many ways it reminds me of why I love TV.

→ I am now about four episodes behind on Friday Night Lights. I don't know what my problem is there. I also haven't watched Pushing Daisies this week yet. With news of its cancellation, I may just try to stretch this out as long as possible, hehe. I can save them up for a rainy day!

→ I had yummy chocolate cake and pizza today for my birthday at work! I got a sparkly pink magic wand, also! Hehe. So adorable! I love my job.
krickets: (ATLANTIS. ronon is beautiful.)
Buffy Box Set on sale today at amazon for $69.99. And I thought I got a good deal getting it at $99 bucks back when I bought it. I think amazon usually sells it for $149 or there-about.

→ Jason Momoa, of SGA, -see icon- was apparently attacked last week and had to get 140 stitches in his face, and re-constructive surgery. Holy crap! I am beyond stunned at this news. Poor guy. I don't even know how to imagine anyone's face with 140 stitches in it. Jesus.

→ Loved Grey's Anatomy last night. my c&p'ed reaction ) This show is really just getting better and better. I don't care if people are hating on it right now. In so many ways it reminds me of why I love TV.

→ I am now about four episodes behind on Friday Night Lights. I don't know what my problem is there. I also haven't watched Pushing Daisies this week yet. With news of its cancellation, I may just try to stretch this out as long as possible, hehe. I can save them up for a rainy day!

→ I had yummy chocolate cake and pizza today for my birthday at work! I got a sparkly pink magic wand, also! Hehe. So adorable! I love my job.
krickets: ([spn] I wanna hit something!)
Spoilers for the latest episode of Supernatural, s02ep17 - Heart, under the cut. Or more specifically, an analysis of the final scene and its possible ramifications.

the more you change, the less you feel )
krickets: ([spn] I wanna hit something!)
Spoilers for the latest episode of Supernatural, s02ep17 - Heart, under the cut. Or more specifically, an analysis of the final scene and its possible ramifications.

the more you change, the less you feel )

Profile

krickets: (Default)
krickets

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
202122232425 26
27282930   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:11 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios